Renting Your Faith

We went to church today. It’s Sunday so that in itself isn’t really surprising. What’s surprising is what I took home from it. This has been a very busy weekend (more on that tomorrow) and today’s church service was like a breath of fresh air. The message from today’s service has been bouncing around in my head all day, and not just from a Christian standpoint. It was a message I found myself able to apply in a lot of areas, so I decided to write about it.

Today Pastor discussed the concept of “renting” your faith as opposed to “owning” your faith. The details aren’t entirely important because I believe the concept speaks for itself. How often do we, as people, “rent” our experiences. We go through the motions. We invest just enough of ourselves to get by and make it acceptable. I know I do this a lot in school, at church, with some relationships, and even in my housework.

Today’s message made me really realize how much I deny myself rich and deep experiences. If I “own” these things then I will feel them more, invest more, and get more out of each of these situations. This is not a new concept to me. This is something I’ve been told before but never fully understood. Instead of examining it more closely when I was told this, I found ways to insist that that I was trying and that I was doing the best I could. I believed  that to be true. Now  I see how I can actually make this work better, smarter, and more efficiently and still be owning my experiences.

The more I invest in something, the more I should get out of it.

Leave a Reply

